How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in New Jersey?

How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, like in any state, there is a specific time frame within which you must file your car accident claim. If you fail to do so, you will lose your right to claim any compensation for injuries resulting from someone else’s negligent actions. Understanding how much time you have until this window closes is instrumental for protecting your right to seek compensation afterward.

Statute of Limitations New Jersey Car Accident Claims

A statute of limitations is the legally prescribed window within which you can file a lawsuit after an incident has occurred, which differs from state to state.

As a car accident victim, it’s crucial to recognize that the statute of limitations does not apply to your insurance claims. Rather, it dictates how long you have to initiate a lawsuit following an automobile collision in New Jersey. So, how long after an accident can you sue before it becomes too late? 

In New Jersey, you generally have two years from the date of your car accident to file a claim for personal injuries. 

Property damage claims offer a stretch on that timeframe, with a deadline of 6 years from the date of the accident to receive compensation relating to vehicle or property repair and replacement. 

How Long After an Accident Can You File a Claim or Lawsuit?

After an accident, it’s advisable to file a claim or lawsuit as soon as you’re reasonably able to do so. This will give your case the best chance for a successful resolution, as delay could result in lost evidence and faded witness memories. 

If ever you find yourself unsure about how to proceed, you should reach out to a personal injury attorney for assistance.

How Long Do You Have to File an Insurance Claim for a New Jersey Car Accident?

If you’ve been wondering, “how long after an accident can you file a claim in New Jersey?” it’s helpful to understand some of the requirements and the importance of filing your claim as soon as possible.

For insurance claims following a car accident in New Jersey, the best practice is to do this as soon as possible to avoid any unnecessary complexities or delays. 

It’s important to understand that for car accidents in New Jersey, you are also required to report the car accident to authorities if the police do not show up to investigate the accident. This is true as long as there is damage exceeding $500, injuries occur, or someone dies. 

It’s a good idea to always report car accidents, no matter how minor they may appear at first glance. Vehicle repairs can quickly exceed perceived costs, with $500 often being reached far more easily than many might expect 

How Long Can Car Insurance Claims Stay Open?

Generally, insurers must adhere to specific deadlines for insurance claims. Across the board, all car accident insurance claims in New Jersey should be acknowledged within 10 business days following receipt.

Once acknowledged, insurers then have further deadlines based on the type of claim. If you’re filing a first-party claim with your own insurer, the insurance companies are generally given 30 calendar days to either make a payment or explain why they aren’t approving your claim. 

Suppose you’re eligible to file a third-party claim against another party’s insurance company. In that case, these companies have longer to provide payment or again explain why they won’t be paying out on your personal injury claim

Several variables can impact the timeframe, with claims involving serious or multiple injuries likely needing more negotiation time to properly calculate fair compensation. 

A Car Accident Lawyer Can Help With Your New Jersey Car Insurance Claim

If you are encountering issues with a car insurance claim, such as severe delays or inadequate compensation offers, reaching out to a personal injury lawyer can help ensure that your rights and interests are protected.

Contact Noonan & McMahon, LLC Today

For more information, please contact the lawyers at Noonan & McMahon, LLC  to schedule a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer. We have a convenient office location in Freehold, NJ. We proudly serve all throughout Monmouth County and New Jersey.

Noonan & McMahon, LLC – Freehold Office
35 Court St 1A, Freehold, NJ 07728
(732) 631 3387